The organizational structure of BelTox is composed of the

  1. General Assembly
  2. Steering Committee
  3. Management Board

The General Assembly of BelTox is composed of the members of BelTox and meets once a year on the occasion of the annual scientific meeting for the approval of the annual report. It is consulted via the website once a year for the approval of the financial balance sheet of the past fiscal year and the budget of the current year. The General Assembly elects every three years the members of the Steering Committee.

The BelTox Steering Committee is the advisory body of the society and meets 4 times per year. It elects the members of the Management Board takes decisions concerning the daily management of the Society, proposes and approves the scientific programs and participates in the organization of the various events set up by BelTox. It is composed of at least 10 BelTox members who are elected every three years by the General Assembly. The Steering Committee should be representative of all parties involved in toxicological and environmental sciences in Belgium.

The current members of the Steering Committee are:

Jana Asselman (UGent);  Monica Autiero (Toxminds); Sonja Beken (FAGG); Miranda Cornet (UCB); Jacques De Gerlache (Greenfacts);  Joery De Kock (VUB); Arno Gutleb (LIST); Peter Hoet (KULeuven); Dominique Lison (LTAP); Mark Martens (MMTA); Ruth Moeller (LIST); Willem Penning (ex-DG SANCO); Frédéric Silvestre (University of Namur); Francesca Tencalla (ToxMinds); Erik Van Miert (Solvay); An Van Rompay (VITO); Philippe Vanparys (Gentoxicon); Steven Verberckmoes (Umicore); Henk Vrijhof (ex-ECETOC); .

The BelTox Management Board is responsible for the daily functioning of the society and is composed of:

  • The president: Francesca Tencalla
  • The vice-president: Dominique Lison
  • The secretary: Mark Martens
  • The treasurer: Miranda Cornet

The management board is supported by a permanent secretariat led by Viella Krieckemans.

BelTox is the Belgian Society member of EUROTOX, the Federation of European Toxicologists and European Societies of Toxicology.

BelTox is a corporation according to Belgian law (VZW/ASBL) with headquarters at Avenue de Broquevillelaan 116, 1200 Brussels, Belgium.